The present-day Mairie was once home to the public boys' school founded in 1919. Classes were held in the Salle des Roseaux in today's Mairie. The school closed its doors around 1970.
La Motte Féodale
The feudal mound dates back to the 10th century and belonged to the Lords of La Garnache. The mound housed a wooden castle and a wooden keep at its highest point. The statue of the Blessed Virgin occupying the summit was originally behind the church. In 2017, it was restored by the municipal services, as was the mound.
The Bignon Valley
Opened in 2022, this green lung offers visitors a chance to discover the local fauna.
The Sacred Heart
Following a mission, the statue of the Sacred Heart was erected in 1934 on the corner of the Machecoul and Paulx roads. In 1999, the municipality and the parish joined forces to restore it. When the statue was removed, the list of families who had participated in its installation was found intact: 406 families, including the parish priests and the missionaries who had preached the mission.
The House of Gaston Dolbeau
This 17th-century residence was once home to Gaston DOLBEAU, a talented painter and musician. Although he was born in Essonne, his family was originally from Bois-de-Céné. The founder of the Bouquet d'Ajoncs folklore group, he also collected and collated nearly 500 songs and dances.
The brothers Jan and Joël Martel, renowned sculptors and decorators, created monuments and fountains inspired by Art Deco and Cubism in the early 20th century. They spent a lot of time in the Vendée, particularly at their uncle's house (Manoir du Bois Joli) in Bois-de-Céné. The Martel brothers died 6 months apart and are buried in the Bois-de-Céné cemetery.
Le Manoir du Bois Joli
It was built at the end of the 19th century by Adam Boucher, Mayor of Bois-de-Céné. Built on the axis of the road to La Garnache, the story goes that its height and position were intended to defy the Mayor of La Garnache, Armand de Baudry d'Asson.
Saint Etienne Church
Built at the end of the 14th century in Romanesque style, the church was pillaged and burnt down by the Protestants in 1588, but remains of the first church can still be seen at the base of the bell tower. These include astonishing sculpted figures dating from the 16th century and altarpieces from the 17th century. The roof of the bell tower is in the shape of a German helmet from the First World War. In 1971, 4 sarcophagi from the Merovingian period were discovered, one of which can be seen in the church. The church has been listed as a Monument Historique since 1926 and has been undergoing restoration work since 2022.
17th-century house known as "la Cénélière
Built in 1627, only the porch of the house has been listed as a Historic Monument since 1926. The keystone at the entrance to the house, whose façade has been modified, is carved with a three-bar shield. Inside, the great hall houses two period fireplaces. Once stored in a shed, they have now been reassembled by the owner of the house. This is the only house in Bois-de-Céné with a cellar that floods.